Mark’s Reviews

Looking for a good read?  I write a weekly book review (well, almost weekly) for The Daily News of Galveston County.  (Formerly the Galveston County Daily News) My one rule in choosing the books I review? They have to be worth reading.  I may not always agree with the author, but I think the author has presented something worth thinking about or worth knowing.  So the next time you are looking for a book to read, you might try one of these.

The link takes you to my Daily News of Galveston County  reviews.  If I have reviews for other publications online, I will link those, too.  I update this page every time a new DNGC review is published, so check back every Monday.

Older Reviews 2016 Reviews  2015 Reviews  2014 Reviews 2013 Reviews2012 Reviews2011 Reviews  —  2010 Reviews2009 Reviews 2008 Reviews2007 Reviews —  2006 Reviews

This Year’s Reviews:

August 29, 2017 – Straight Bourbon: Distilling the Industry’s Heritage

August 22, 2017 – Instruments of Darkness: The History of Electronic Warfare, 1939-1945

August 15, 2017 – Monster Hunter Siege

August 8, 2017 – Fiddlers and Whores: The Candid Memoirs of a Surgeon in Nelson’s Fleet

August 1, 2017 –  Bulwark Against The Bay: The People of Corpus Christi and Their Seawall

July 25, 2017 – Dunmore’s War: The Last Conflict of America’s Colonial Era

July 19, 2017 –  Straight Outta Tombstone

July 12, 2017 – The Priest Barracks: Dachau, 1938-1945

July 4, 2017 – Faithful Shep: The Story of a Hero Dog and the Nine Texas Rangers Who Saved Him

June 27, 2017 – Red Vengeance

June 20, 2017 – Father Brown and the Ten Commandments

June 13, 2017 – The First Tour de France: Sixty Cyclists and Nineteen Days of Daring on the Road to Paris

May 27, 2017 – Dadland

May 21, 2017 – Agent M

May 11, 2017 – The Gods of Sagittarius

May 4, 2017 – Madness Rules the Hour

April 27, 2017 – Securing the Narrow Sea

April 21, 2017 – Blitzed: Drugs in the Third Reich

April 13, 2017 – Little Green Men — Attack!

April 1, 2017 – A Rabble of Dead Money, The Great Crash and Global Depression: 1929-1939

March 25, 2017 – The Sleeping Witness

March 18, 2017 – The History of Human Space Flight

March 11, 2017 – George Washington: The Wonder of the Age

March 4, 2017 – The Black Wolves of Boston

February 25, 2017 – From the Devil’s Farm

February 18, 2017 – Eavesdropping on Texas History

February 11, 2017 – The Decoys: A Tale of Three Atlantic Convoys 1942

February 4, 2017 – 1636: The Ottoman Onslaught

January 28, 2017 – The Counterfeit Prince of Old Texas: Swindling Slaver Monroe Edwards

January 21, 2017 –  The Glass Universe: How the Ladies of the Harvard Observatory Took the Measure of the Stars

January 14, 2017 – Containment

January 7, 2017 –  Jutland: The Unfinished Battle

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *